top of page

On bonfires, boy scouts, and tractors…

When I was a Boy Scout, like many of my comrades, I liked to poke around the fire.  In survival school, we called the fire the “Survival Television” – throw a branch in or rearrange the logs, and you’ve changed the channel.

My wife said today that a bonfire on a crisp Fall day is one of life’s true pleasures, and I agree with her.  So today we got a burn permit from the Fire Department and spent a bit of time burning a pile of pin cherries (we’ve been slowly clearing them out of our back pasture, as they’re poisonous to horses and goats) as well as some more of the debris left by Irene a couple weeks ago.

Fires are just as fun as they used to be.

But now I have a tractor, and I have to say that playing with a fire with a tractor has got to be one of the coolest things grownup boys get to do (besides using the tractor to knock the trees down in the first place, and then the chainsaw to cut them up).  Here’s a video of dropping one of the pin cherry stumps into the bonfire.

Life is good.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page